Album: On the 6

On the 6 is the debut album by American singer Jennifer Lopez, released on June 1, 1999 via Epic Records (see 1999 in music). The album peaked at number eight on the U.S. Billboard 200, remaining on the top twenty for eleven weeks and on the chart for fifty-three (making one re-entry). It sold seven million units worldwide and produced five singles, including the Billboard Hot 100 number-one "If You Had My Love" and the Hot Dance Club Play number-one "Waiting for Tonight". The album's title refers to the 6 subway line in New York City, which Lopez used to commute to work in Manhattan from her home in the Bronx during the early years of her career. The original title for On the 6 was Feelin' So Good. Lopez even wanted the song "Feelin' So Good" to be the first single instead of "If You Had My Love".[1] The album includes two songs previously sung by Diana Ross:"Promise Me You'll Try" and Theme from Mahogany (Do You Know Where You're Going To)". Released:June 1, 1999 (U.S.); June 16, 1999 (Europe); July 5, 1999 (U.K.) Recorded: 1998–1999 Genre:Pop, R&B, Latin pop Length: 71:00 (international edition) Label:Epic/Work Producer: Jennifer Lopez (also executive), Darrell Branch, Diddy, Lauren Dawson, Lawrence Dermer, Emilio Estefan, Jr. (also executive), Rob Jenkins, Darkchild, Richie Jones, Poke & Tone, Lance "Un" Rivera, Cory Rooney (also executive), Kike Santander, Dan Shea, Rick Wake, Alvin West, Juan Vicente Zambrano. User-contributed text is available under the Creative Commons By-SA License; additional terms may apply.